Posted by: scootrah | August 11, 2014

Pasta with Jam Sauce – WTH?

So my friend Aileen called and asked me a favor, “Could you review a recipe my kids are making for a scavenger hunt?” Um…ok…”What is it?” I asked. If you’ve read my blog before, you know Aileen is one of my cooking-challenged friends who “hates to cook”, so I was a little suspicious. “It’s called ‘Pasta with Jam Sauce'” she said. Wow. This has something to do with #GISHWHES, which is the Greatest International Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen – (look it up online cuz I don’t really get it) but Aileen’s kids Grayson and Red are cool and I wanted to help them out. I arrived at the house to find a steaming bowl of brown glop and a LARGE glass of water waiting for me. “Dig in”, Aileen said. It was hard to know what to do first, so I started with what I’d do for any food judging or tasting, and smell it. It’s quite difficult to describe the aroma, but I think malodorous is a good start – a weird combo of sweet, chocolate and ketchup. Then I had to taste it, and where to start – the large, unpeeled chunks of apple, the wheel-shaped pasta or the icky, thick brown sauce? As it turned out, it really didn’t matter. The taste was a sweet/syrupy, slightly acidic, gloopy train wreck, and the only redeeming taste was the apple chunk, but after the sauce was completely wiped off of it.

photo

One positive thing about the dish is the “ONE POT” cooking concept

After my “mouthwatering” sample, I was told the recipe was invented by a four year old. Until Aileen revealed that, I thought somehow she’d managed to get my uncle’s second wife to whip this up, a woman known for making dishes “heart heathy” by replacing any fat in the recipe with the equal amount of Molly McButter. I can’t say I would recommend Pasta with Jam Sauce, but I will say that if you’re looking for an adventure in culinary improvisation, this would be it. Make sure to check out “Cooking fast and fresh with West” – the Thanksgiving episode, as that’s where this inspiration all started. It’s cute and I will say I think it’s great to have kids run loose with their imaginations in the kitchen and get them cooking. But I won’t say you’ll want to make this for yourself. But then again, I don’t have kids…

photo 3

I’m about to sample “Pasta with Jam Sauce” – the aroma wasn’t exactly enticing…

  • 1 jar pasta sauce
  • 1/ bag of chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups strawberry jam
  • 1/2 cup orange juice (the original “recipe” called for carrot juice, but this clever substitution was made when none was on hand)
  • 1/2 pound wheel-shaped pasta
  • 1 unpeeled apple, cut up

Put EVERYTHING into the pot at once and cook about  7 or 8 minutes until done. Serve and ENJOY immediately – and make sure you have lots of water on hand…

Responses

  1. No no no lol

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

